Oak Harbor lands 3 on All-Ohio football team

Alexander, Schulte, Dowling first team in Division V

By Steve Junga / The Blade
Mon, 02 Dec 2019 23:00:00 GMT

link -- with images

Three seniors who helped third-ranked Oak Harbor (13-1) reach the Division V state football semifinals have received first team recognition on the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association’s All-Ohio selections released Monday by the Ohio High School Athletic Association.

Chosen were Rockets quarterback Jac Alexander, linebacker Clay Schulte, and offensive lineman Gabe Dowling.

The other first team honoree in Division V from an area school was Eastwood junior defensive lineman Blake Landis.

The only area player to receive first team recognition in the Division IV selections was Bryan senior quarterback Nate Miller.

The 5-foot-10, 185-pound Alexander, who also excelled at defensive back, passed for 1,310 yards and 21 touchdowns with no interceptions, and rushed for 970 yards and 15 TDs during the 10-game regular season for Oak Harbor, which won its second straight Sandusky Bay Conference Bay Division title.

Schulte, a 5-11, 180-pounder, had 133 tackles for the Rockets, and also rushed for 1,015 yards and scored 30 TDs during the regular season. Miller, a 6-1, 195-pounder, passed for 2,032 yards and 25 TDs for the Golden Bears.

Named to the second team in Division IV was Wauseon senior receiver Connar Penrod. Selected to the third team in D-IV were Wauseon senior defensive lineman Isaac Wilson and Bryan senior defensive back Connor Arthur.

Chosen to the second team in Division V from fourth-ranked Northern Buckeye Conference champion Eastwood (11-1) were senior running back Justin Pickerel, senior defensive back Griffin Coffield, and junior linebacker Zach Kwiatkowski.

Other second team selections were senior offensive lineman Erik Marazon, senior defensive lineman Dalton Dempsey and senior linebacker Tyler Hughes of Toledo Area Athletic Conference champion Northwood (10-0), senior running back and junior defensive lineman Steven Kintner of Blanchard Valley Conference champion Liberty-Benton (9-2), and Lakota senior running back Trevor Franks, who rushed for 2,009 yards and 24 TDs.

Named to the D-V third team were Oak Harbor senior receiver Tyler May and senior defensive lineman Jordan Arnold, and Liberty-Benton senior quarterback Michael Erdeljac.

The OHSAA will release the OPSWA All-Ohio teams in Divisions II and III on Tuesday, and will announce the Division I All-Ohio team along with the 2019 Ohio Mr. Football award on Wednesday.